AdSense vs media.net [ Full comparison ]


Google AdSense is a famous and well-known online advertising network that bloggers, publishers, and authors should consider using on their websites. However, there are several really good and alternative ad networks to look for in the year 2022. Let’s compare AdSense and Media.net on the basis of CPM, payments, RPM, and acceptability in this article.

Because of the size of the AdSense ad network, the average payout per click is typically higher using AdSense compared to Media.net. However, there are instances where Media. net’s focus on contextual ads may incentivize more clicks producing higher revenue even if the pay-per-click is less.

Brief Introduction about the two

AdSenseOpens in a new tab.

AdSense
AdSense

Google’s AdSense is an ad-serving system. Website owners can sign up for the programme to have text, picture, and, more recently, video adverts shown on their pages.

Google manages these adverts, which generate income on a per-click or per-impression basis. Not only does Google provide AdSense for product feeds, but it also allows businesses to place advertising in custom search engines on their websites. In addition, AdSense allows publishers to make extra money from their RSS feeds by displaying contextual and placement-targeted adverts, as well as from visitor searches.

Media.net

Media.net is a major ad technology business that sources demand from the Yahoo Bing advertiser pool and focuses on providing cutting-edge monetization technologies for digital publishers. It has the world’s second-largest contextual ad programme in terms of revenue and excels in product-based niches.

Media.net is an ad network with one of the most comprehensive advertising technology portfolios in the market, including search, native, display, mobile, local, goods, and video. Media.net’s platform and technologies are licenced by some of the world’s leading publishers, ad networks, and other ad tech businesses, and it handles high-quality ad supply on over 500,000 websites.

Minimum Traffic Requirement

AdSense:

To become a publisher or to place Adsense advertising on your page, you do not need to have a certain amount of visitors. You simply need a blog or another website (WordPress, Joomla, or something else) where you can paste the code and try to attract people. You must not, however, click on your own advertisements. This is tracked by Google, and if you do it, you will be banned. Because it is not an honest investigation about the services being provided in the ad, it is termed a black hat strategy.

Google just asks that you publish regular, substantial content that is relevant to the adverts on your site in some way. Previously, the site’s creators would choose which adverts to display. Now, Google utilises its algorithm to find ads that best fit the page on your site where the ad is running, increasing the chances of someone searching for your content while also matching the ad’s content.

Media.netOpens in a new tab.

Media.net
Media.net

Media.net makes no mention of a certain minimum number of page views required for network approval. However, all published content must be in English, and the majority of traffic should come from the United States, the United Kingdom, and Canada. Because the majority of the advertiser base is based in the United States, publishers with strong US traffic can benefit from Media.net in addition to AdSense. As a general rule, we recommend that publishers sign up with Media.net with at least 3k to 5k daily page visits.

Revenue Share Percentage

AdSense

One thing to keep in mind is that Google is honest about how much of a share they get. Regardless of how much money you make with Adsense advertisements, you will always receive 68 percent of the revenue. Publishers receive 51% if the network is mostly utilized for search. The remainder of the portion is maintained by Google as a token of gratitude for the services rendered.

Media.net

For every 1000 impressions of media.net advertising, the publisher earns more money. As a result, predicting the network rate for each ad is difficult. Furthermore, the website does not give CPC (Cost Per Click) or CTR (Click-through rate) information for the advertising it posts. In other words, it’s difficult to estimate how much money you’ll make from each click.

However, if you get $2 CPM (cost per mille) for each media.net ad unit and your click-through rate is 0.5 percent, you will make roughly 40 cents every week. The 0.5 percent refers to their ad’s double click rate.

Ad Quality

AdSense

Google AdSense is a massive network that reaches all corners of the globe. It shows high-quality adverts to all of its customers on its platform. Display, text, link advertisements, and native ad formats are among the ad formats available. Furthermore, the network contains features such as auto advertising, which scan web pages and position advertisements across multiple areas, which tend to perform better (the technology is based on machine learning) and help publishers make good money. AdSense’s commitment to assisting publishers in increasing ad income from mobile traffic includes page-level ads as well.

Media.net

Because Media.net focuses mostly on traffic from the United States and the United Kingdom, they display high-quality adverts for these countries. The advertising is not contextually well-targeted for traffic coming from other countries. Media.net uses a hybrid approach that combines CPC, CPM, CPA, and other metrics, and its contextual text advertising is double-clickable. As a result, publishers will only get compensated if the visitor makes a second click that leads him to the advertiser’s website. Display banners and mobile sticky units are two prominent ad styles.

Acceptance by the industry

AdSense

Top publishers throughout the world use AdSense, including Times Network, Mashable, HubPages, and Virool, Inc, to mention a few. This network is responsible for a major portion of digital marketing.

Media.net

Media.net is one of the top five most powerful and reliable ad platforms in the world. In fact, if you haven’t heard, Media.net was acquired by Miteno Corporation in 2016 for over 900 million dollars, making it the third-largest AdTech acquisition deal ever! This is a testament to Media.net’s long history of success working with publishers and advertisers of all sizes.

CPM and RPM Rates

AdSense

AdSense has high CPM (cost per mille) prices ranging from $1 to $3 per mille. The average RPM for speciality websites is between $5 and $10, with the whole page RPM (Revenue per Mille) reaching $30 in competitive niches with high CPC (Cost Per Click). Many publishers earn between $30 and $50 per 1000 page views on their websites, which are geared toward architectural drawings, floor coatings, insurance, and other related topics.

In its most basic form, when Google matches an ad to the needs of a page’s reader, the reader clicks on the ad, and the blogger is compensated.

Isn’t it true that certain adverts pay more than others? No, not at all. To put it another way, some keywords result in higher-paying ads. Or, in other cases, certain ad sizes result in higher-paying advertising… The ad’s high-paying or low-paying status is determined by the blog post’s topic and ad size. The position of the ad and the layout of the website impact whether or not anyone will click on it.

Media.net

A CPM of roughly USD 1-2 is offered by Media.net. For 10,000 page visits, the average RPM is roughly USD 10. For some categories, it’s comparable to the AdSense network’s offering. It’s worth noting that some publishers make a lot of money from this ad network, and the CPM rates might occasionally be higher than what AdSense offers. However, several people have reported receiving 0 RPM, which can be attributed to two things.

  1. To begin with, your website does not receive a significant amount of traffic from the United States.
  2. Second, the niche isn’t one where Media.net tends to outperform others.

Furthermore, because Media.net is a platform for contextual ad networks, if the keywords in your content do not match those required by advertisers, you will earn nothing. It is recommended that you remove the advertising from your media.net account in this situation. We can attest to the ad network’s integrity because bloggers can earn up to $300 per day from Media.net through their websites.

Payouts

AdSense

AdSense calculates your earnings over the course of a month. Before finishing the payout, AdSense reviews your profits and identifies fake impressions and clicks for a few weeks after the month finishes. Normally, this review is completed by the 20th of the following month. Payments from Google AdSense are made in the last week of each month.

In a word, this is a standard payment schedule, which starts the month after the month in which you made revenue.

3rd of the monthearnings are finalized, revenue for invalid clicks is reduced
20thlast chance to make changes to your payment method
21st – 26ththe payment will be sent by AdSense, changes are no longer possible
27th two months lateryou can reissue another payment if you didn’t receive it

Timelines may change based on where you are in the world and whether or not a given action is performed on a weekend or holiday.

Depending on the payment option, the payment may take some time. Here are different methods and how long it takes for the money to reach you:

Checks by mail1-2 weeks
Wire transfer15 days
EFT payments / bank transfer7 business days 
Western Union Quick Cashyou have 60 days to pick it up
Rapida payments15 days

What is the definition of a payment threshold?

A payment threshold is the minimum quantity of earnings you must accumulate over several months in order to be paid. As shown in the example payment schedule below, you will not get paid for the month in which you earned only $40, but when you earn $90 the following month, you will have earned a total of $130 and will be eligible for AdSense payment the following month.

The payment threshold varies depending on the currency. Here are some examples of possible values:

U.S. Dollar$100
Euro€70
British Pound£60
Yen¥8000
Australian DollarA$100

The payment threshold is arguably the most essential for you, however, there are three other types of earnings thresholds for AdSense actions:

  1. Address the threshold for verification
  2. Threshold for choosing a payment method
  3. Cancellation criterion

You can see the complete list of thresholds here, but to give you a rough idea, the threshold for all of them is $10 or €10.

Media.net

For accounts with at least $100 in earnings, any payments owed to Publishers and/or Affiliates will be made on a net 30 basis. For example, if the Publisher’s unpaid revenues in March total more than $100, the Publisher will be paid by the end of April. Payoneer or wire transfer are the two methods of payment.

Publishers that have given complete payment details by the 15th of the month in which a payment is due will have their payments processed by Media.net. Publisher payments will be processed in the following applicable payout cycle if they have not given complete payment details by the 15th.

Pros and Cons

AdSense

Pros

  1. Google gets a share of what advertisers spend to run their advertisements on your site, so it’s free for publishers.
  2. It’s simple to use. The AdSense system is easy and intuitive, even if you aren’t particularly tech-savvy.
  3. It can be customized. You get to pick the types and sizes of your ads, as well as where they’ll appear on your site. You can also customize the ad’s colors to match the theme of your website.
  4. It can be scaled up or down. You can place adverts on different sites with only one account.
  5. It’s efficient. It’s simple to make money with AdSense if you have good content and established visitors.

Cons

  1. Because you must earn at least $100 before you can transfer money to your bank account, being paid can take a while.
  2. You have a limited amount of control. You have some control over the types of advertising that appear on your site, but Google has the final word, as well as the amount you get paid per click.
  3. You and Google are locked in a monogamous relationship. You can’t run advertising from any other network on your site while using AdSense.
  4. Google now has control of your account. They can delete your advertisements or close your AdSense account completely if they suspect click fraud or other criminal conduct on your site.

Media.net

Pros

  1. It comes with a robust dashboard. The graphs and reports will assist you in monitoring the performance of your website or blog.
  2. The industry’s finest Revenue Per Thousand Impressions (RPM) is currently available.
  3. The advertisements network provides simple ad designs that mix in with your blog’s design and result in a high CTR. If the need arises, you can alter the look of the advertising to match the design of your website or blog.
  4. Allows you to use sticky sidebars or fix advertisements. You can also allow advertisements to appear in the sticky or fixed sidebars.
  5. One of the nicest aspects of the service is the customer support. You will be assigned a customer representative to your account after they have authorized your website or blog. They will assist you in optimizing your website or blog for their advertisements in order to increase your earnings.

Cons

  1. Visitors to your website must click twice on the adverts. In other words, in order for you to receive money, your site visitors must click on the advertisement twice.
  2. They do not provide real-time revenue updates. To see the day’s earnings, you’ll have to wait one day.
  3. Only website traffic from three nations is required: the United Kingdom, the United States, and Canada. You will not profit if your website receives visits from other nations.

Conclusion

From this comparison of AdSense vs. Media.net, it is safe to conclude that the latter is a newcomer to the digital advertising sector. Because Media.net focuses on contextual advertising, it may take some time to effectively optimize the site. The ideal approach is to run both networks at the same time, since this would allow viewers to see a variety of advertisements.

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